Frank Lloyd Wright 10k – and a Video!

Good morning 🙂 Sorry I’m a little late in posting! I’ve been waiting for a (rather embarrassing) video to process for the post 😉

Yesterday’s 10 k ended up being SO much fun. We got off to a rocky start because we left a little later than planned and got to the start line just in time !

 

IMG_0676

 

We got this! haha

IMG_0675

 

Lining up!IMG_0683

 

And after a slow shuffle through the start line, we were off!

 

IMG_0698

I stuck with Kim the entire time, and we had SO much fun. I don’t think we stopped talking. Or singing, for that matter. And revealing that we’re really 12. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Sorry the video is upside down – hard to think about these things when running a 10k 😉

There were many more videos, but trust that one is enough. I’ll spare you 😉

We actually couldn’t believe it at mile 4! Running for 35 minutes felt like 10! Then right when we passed the 5 mile marker, it started to rain – which wasn’t great. But we picked up our pace and ended up finishing in 57:53!

 

   IMG_0700

IMG_0705

 

(notice the water bottles doubled as bagel holders this year 😉 )

IMG_0706 

An automatic PR for Kim, since it was her first 10k! 😀

We didn’t hang around too long after the race, and headed straight to this cute little restaurant called Georgia’s for a nice hot breakfast.

 

IMG_0709

We want food! We want food!

IMG_0708

I’ve declared my adoration for omelets when dining out for breakfast, and my commitment didn’t falter now, either:

 

IMG_0710

Omelet. In yo face.

It was delicious! And felt great to have some hot food and hot coffee in our systems.

Next stop was Trader Joe’s…

 

 

TJ’s exploded on my counter!

By this time, it was already 1:00, and I still had the 2.5 hour drive back home – which actually went by a lot quicker than I anticipated (thankfully.) Oh, and you’ll be happy to know I did just fine driving in Chicago traffic. I’m pretty sure I drive 100 x’s better without anyone else in the car, as I’m less distracted then.

But, that didn’t make saying goodbye any less difficult…

 

   IMG_0713 

I don’t know about you, but I get pretty bummed out after a day or two of seeing some of my “family” and then not seeing them again for a while. However, I’m much worse when I’m the leave-ee; when I’m the leav-er I have other things to occupy my mind…like the drive home and seeing the husband and the pets!

What a fun weekend!!! It was a busy one, though – that’s for sure. Hopefully I’ll get some R&R this week 😉 At least today won’t be too busy. A client here and there and then a volleyball game! Probably will head to the gym at one point or another, too.

Have a lovely Monday, lovelies! 🙂

12 Responses

  1. You two are so cute singing in the video! I cannot wait to run my first 5K on Thanksgiving day! Thank you for all of the tips and inspiration that your blog brings!! ~Dawn

  2. Aw… I’m glad you had such a great run!

    Maybe I’ll have to try that one out next year….

    Have a great week!

  3. That sounds like a great run. I bet time going back quicker than you thought on a run is one of the best feelings out there. 🙂

  4. Hahaha you guys are hilarious! And nice job on the race (and Chicago driving) 🙂 I totally get bummed after friends/family weekends!

  5. Looks like it was a great time! Congrats!! Also, love the bagel holder. 😉

  6. Love the video! Congrats on running a great race 🙂

  7. The video was adorable! Good job on the race!

  8. Hey woman! I just caught up on a hefty amount of posts from you. I can’t watch the video right now (@ work) but I will have to come back to it. Congrats on the race and can I just say I am happy to be caught up w/ you!

  9. Great job on the race! I am happy the rain mostly held off. I was thinking about you Sunday morning!

  10. Congrats on the race…it’s always fun when you have a friend to do it with…especially fun with a goofy friend!

Leave a Reply

