Spicy Mascara, Spicy Chili

I had a couple spare hours in my day yesterday, so I did some MUCH needed tasks that always get pushed to the back burner.

Cleaning makeup brushes:

 

 IMG_9977

 

It’s horrible to leave your makeup brushes caked with old makeup. It’s a breeding ground for bacteria! It’s healthy to wash them weekly, but I’d say I wash mine every 2-3 weeks. It’s especially to wash eye makeup brushes.

Then, I threw out all makeup that I couldn’t remember when I bought it. IMG_0004

excuse the mess, por favor

IMG_0005

I remember all the makeup I’ve gotten in the last year or two, so anything over that and it went in the garbage. IMG_0002

All gone!

Another good test is the smell test. Ever smelled old mascara? You’ll know if it’s gone bad right away based on how much your nose scrunches up after taking a whiff 😉

—-       

After purging some makeup, I made a quick and easy dinner before heading to train a couple clients

Chili chili chili!

Since I’d be gone a little past when we usually eat, I made chili because everyone knows chili is even better when it’s reheated 😉

 IMG_9991

This chili was extremely simple and reminded me of the chili I used to make when I didn’t know how to cook…

 IMG_9986

 

At least it’s not a chili seasoning packet! (those are very helpful, actually..)

I seasoned with: crushed red pepper, chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, sugar, flour, basil, and garlic!

Oh, and where I come from, chili (especially spicy chili!) is eaten alongside PB sandwiches!

 

IMG_9994

Seriously. Try this. Best food pairing evaa.

IMG_9995

 

And where the husband comes from, PICKLES go into the chili!

IMG_9993

This is very good, too.

 

IMG_9990

What a delicious meal.

There may or may not have been some homemade pie consumption a couple hours later…

IMG_9998

😉

——

Have a great rest of your day, all!

 

What seasonings do you use for chili?

12 Responses

  1. I’m intrigued…peanut butter and pickles and chili! I like your style. 🙂 Sorry I missed you this weekend- next time!

  2. oh my gosh – i’ve never cleaned my brushes. i am horrible. the MAC girls tried to send me home with some expensive crap but i took it back thinking i could find something cheaper. what do you use?

  3. I use a lot of cayenne pepper. I like my chili spicy, spicy, spicy!

  4. I’ve never washed my makeup brushes! ack! And you should see my makeup bag, it is totally chaotic! Chili and a pb sandwich? I’m not sure I can get my little brain around that 😀

  5. I love when I clean my brushes, too!

  6. I need to clean my makeup brushes sooo badly! I also need to refresh some of my products. Mascara is the one good thing in my collection. I go through it too fast for it to get old and smelly.

  7. I’ve never washed my brushes, but I do have one that needs to be tossed and replaced.

    For chili, I think we use salt and pepper, cumin and chili powder? I’m afraid I might be forgetting something, but the canned tomatoes w/ chilies ususally make up for anything that’s missing in flavor, you know?

  8. I definitely don’t wash my makeup brushes enough. oops.

    I’m a big fan of cumin and chili powder.

  9. Mhm, chili, I should make it soon.
    I use chili powder, and maybe some cumin or curry. I have chili seeds, so it’s pretty spicy when I add those

  10. OMG I am just catching up on my google reader — I made chili 2 nights ago too it is my favorite thing to make for the week! My secret ingredient is cinnamon 🙂 This time I also used a habanero pepper = hotness!

Leave a Reply

