A Conscious Effort

Afternoon 🙂

THANK YOU for all your words of encouragement regarding running a marathon in 2011. It means tons, and every supportive comment inspired me that much more 😀

These past few days, I know I haven’t been drinking as much water as I should be. I can feel the thirst, feel the lethargy, and can tell my skin is dry. But one tell tale sign that let’s me know to chug water asap is right before my eyes!

 

 IMG_0016

It is my eyes, actually. Whenever I need to up my H2O, my eyes get dry and red! It rarely gets to this point, but it did today! (sorry for the eyeball bombardment at the front of the post too!)

Needless to say, I’ve been a water guzzler all day.

 

 IMG_0037

 

As I’ve been lacking in water drinking, yesterday’s eats were definitely lacking in vegetable eating. I think I’ve made up for the lack of veg in my diet yesterday and it’s only 3:00!

  IMG_0031      

That’s a mixing bowl!!

Lunch was cumin and curry spiced chickpeas (yum!) over a HUGE bed of greens – romaine and arugula.

 

IMG_0033

I swear that’s not dog food. It’s deliciously spicy chickpeas!

This was eaten along side two leftover pieces of pizza on TJ’s crust, but I was too full to finish both pieces!

 

IMG_0034

 

Last heirloom tomato from the farmers market right here:

 

IMG_0035

I’ve also had a green smoothie and some veggies and hummus to meet the quota. I’m a firm believer that the body is great at checks and balances. One day you’ll OD on sugar, and then next your body wants nothing to do with it. Regardless, I made a conscious (I can never spell this word right) effort to get in more green today.

Ran a 5 mile interval run with minimal pain! Woot!!

Back to work! And guzzling away…

 

IMG_0039

 

gulp, gulp, gulp

Have a good rest of your Wednesday, friends!!

What’s an odd way you can tell you are dehydrated? I also tend to get snacky! Well, snackier than usual 😉

9 Responses

  1. Your eye color is so pretty!

    If I don’t drink as much water as I typically do I tend to get a headache. That is always my answer when someone has a headache- drink more water peeps!

  2. my eyes get SO dry when I am dehydrated!!

    and sometimes I just CRAVE water… and seem like I cannot get enough, I drink and drink and drink and it TASTES so good. 😀

  3. I always know when I haven’t had enough water, when the next day that is all I crave!

  4. I like the idea of roasting chickpeas with cumin! Yum.

    I get headachy if I don’t hydrate… but I tend to over-hydrate!

  5. You know what, I was thinking that I need to up my water levels as well. My voice is all hoarse (not in a sexy way) today and it must be because I’m dehydrated. Thanks for this post! It’s reminding me to drink up on H20.

  6. I get snacky when I need water, too. I can also feel it in my runs. I definitely drink tons, though!

  7. I get ‘the snacks’ too haha 🙂

  8. I’ve been trying to drink more water lately too. It gets hard in the colder months. Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

