Oops…I “Forgot”

G’morning guys! 🙂 How we doin?

It feels like old times over here. I just got back from the gym where I did an awesome cardio and iron pumping workout! I’m finally beginning to ramp up my strength training again and it feels great. I have a feeling that if I didn’t let it slip so much as my mileage increased that I wouldn’t have the injuries I do now 😉 It’s easy sometimes to get ahead of ourselves and “forget” what’s good for us, am I right?

Anyway, today at the gym I worked legs, shoulders and abs with the following super sets:

  • Squat w/ olympic bar – 3×12
  • Arnold press – 3×12 – 10 lb dumbbells

  • step ups w/ 15 lb dumbbells – 3×12
  • hanging leg raises – body weight – 3×12

  • walking lunges w/ 15 lb dumbbells – 3×12
  • external shoulder rotation – 10 lbs – 3×12 each arm

  • single leg deadlifts w/ 35 lb kettlebell – 3×12 each leg
  • saxxon side bends – 5 lb dumbbells – 3×12

 

Woo!

Another thing I’ve “forgotten” about? How amazing acorn squash is!!

Before leaving to train a client, I slow roasted a HUGE acorn squash at 275 degrees. That way, when I came home an hour and a half later, all I had to do was crank up the heat to 400, stick some veggies in the oven for my meal!

 IMG_0054  IMG_0056

A BIG bowl of kale and brussels sprouts. I promise there’s brussels under there 😉

I filled the acorn squash up with pumpkin butter tofu (cubed tofu marinated in coconut oil and pumpkin butter – got the idea from Averie) to round out the meal.

IMG_0055

It was stupendous! However, I still think my tried and true maple black beans stuffing takes the cake gord.

image

Keeping up with the old times feelings, I had another memory inducing meal for breakfast:

Another old-time-feeling is looming…the end of daylight savings time! It’s happening this Sunday!! 😦 I’ve been savoring every droplet of light before dusk that I can.

IMG_0057

Love that extra hour of sleep, but getting dark out at 5:00 p.m. is no bueno.

I have to get to work early this morning for a unit meeting – off I go! But when I “come back,” since so many of you said you never wash your makeup brushes, I’m going to post the quick and cheap way I wash mine – it takes 5 minutes and is NOTHING fancy!

Have a great Thursday!

What do you prefer – falling back or springing ahead? I’m TOTALLY all for springing ahead!

9 Responses

  1. I love springing ahead because it means spring is on its way… flowers, trees (pollen too), and all things coming a live again.

  2. Looking forward to the brush-washing post! I’m embarrassed to say I never wash my makeup brushes, and I think they are definitely in need of a good cleaning.

  3. both of those squash look SO good…

    I LOVE springtime and we are in an area where summertime can be LIGHT until after 9:30 at night… love Love LOVE that! I definitely do not like the early darkness, but…

    I wake up early – generally around 5:30… ever since G.bush changed the time change thing it is SO dark in the mornings this time of year – it is still dark at 7am… and I cannot wait for that to change. (we live kinda remotely, no street lamps outside…) complete darkness!

    HAPPY THURSDAY TO YOU !!

  4. Oh, I am so bad about washing my makeup brushes. I’ve done it before, but it’s been a looooong time.

    I actually like falling back because I love the winter season – dark or not!

    Like you, I just started strength training again, and it’s made me wonder why I ever stopped. I always feel so good afterwards. Good for you for getting back with it!

  5. Can I choose both? An extra hour of daylight in both the morning and night AND extra sleep? Because that’s what I want! I’m having such a hard time getting out of bed in the morning lately and an even harder time going to the gym after work! Something about working out at night is not appealing when all I want to do is go home and curl up in my sweats.

  6. I really need to get back to strength training in a bad way! When I got treated for my foot issues before the race, the doc asked what exercises I’d been doing…besides running. Umm….

    I love your super sets. It looks like something I might be able to handle on my own. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I was so disappointed because I just baked an acorn squash and it was not good at all! Which is strange because I recall them making the best fries…ugh!!

  8. Lord, I’ve been in such a running rut lately because there’s nothing like some ruthless cardio to just let it all go after work. I need to start planning evening activities again so that I HAVE to do yoga in the mornings instead of run.

Leave a Reply

