It Happened…

It happened. Last night, around 7:30 pm, the inevitable came true. It snowed. OK, maybe flurried is a better word, but still!! The wet rain transformed into solid drops, and it happened. And I was just warming up (ha) to the idea of fall!!!

And I’m not the only one who’s not a fan of the cold, wet, snow you know.

 

 IMG_1026

What the bark, mom?! It’s barking cold out there!   

So that picture was from last winter, but ya get the point 😉 You’d think after 25 years of living in the Midwest you’d get used to it by now, right? I’m still waiting for that to happen.

One thing frigid temps are good for? Nice, hot, comforting breakfasts🙂 After I got back from training a client in the wee hours this morning, I wanted nothing but a hot breakfast to warm my soul. Waffles sounded nice, actually, but I needed to keep it a little lighter than waffles.

 

IMG_0083

 

Hot spiced oatmeal in a Jif jar? Don’t mind if I do!

 

IMG_0086

 

On top there? That’s my newest oatmeal topping obsession – Greek yogurt mixed with a bit of pumpkin butter. Unbelievable!

I had to keep it light because after I finish this post, I’m off to a spin class at my new old gym! I’m pretty amped up about this class. The energy is pretty intense from what I remember, and it’s a blast! And it’s inside 😉

Luckily, the temps are supposed to warm back up this weekend, though, so hopefully tomorrow I can get in a run (maybe? provided body parts cooperate with me?!) 🙂

That said, I have to tell you guys something.

I’m sure you’ve guessed by now, but I won’t be running in this weekend’s Hot Chocolate 15k.

Ouch. It hurt to write that 😦

I won’t be running for several reasons:

Number 1. My heel/arch of my left foot hates me.

Number 2. My right hip hates me too

Number 3. My cousin, who I was going to run it with, had to back out because of family obligations.

Number 4. One of my best friends is hosting a benefit for her mom because she has breast cancer, and there’s no way in hell that I’ll miss it.

So there. Call me a quitter, or not. I figured four reasons telling me not to drive to Chicago and run this race is a pretty big sign that I should cut my losses and fold my cards. So instead of wallowing, I’ll be proud of my decision, and proud of friends who are running the race, too! You girls have FUN! And good luck. Sorry I won’t be able to meet up…

Onward and upward -  I’m off to spin it out! Watch out nah!

Does it snow where you live? When do you usually have the first snow? There was no accumulation or anything last night, so I’m not sure if we Illinoisans can call it the “first snow.” Usually our first big snow happens in late November or early December!

**Makeup Brush Washing Tutorial coming in this afternoon’s post!!

20 Responses

  1. Oh no! Sadness! 😦

    I’m sorry about the foot and hip still giving you issues, but at least you’re doing a good job of listening to the body. I hope you still have a wonderful weekend!

  2. snow already!? ahhh! it doesn’t usually snow in SC, but for some freakish reason it did last year! it was pretty!

  3. Ahh! Don’t say the S word! I’m going to enjoy fall in Boston while I can 🙂

  4. I think you made a good decision about the race. You’re not a quitter! The benefit sounds so much better than any commercial race anyway.

    I was very upset when I saw a snowflake yesterday.

  5. You’re not a quitter! If you ignored those pains, things could get a lot worse.
    I’m in DC so unless we have a freaky winter like last year, we only get snow a few times. I like it when work gets cancelled though!

  6. Oh nooooo! Snow?! GROSS.

    Sounds like you’re skipping the run for all the right reasons, you’re so not a quitter!

  7. I’m sorry you won’t get to run 😦 But those are good reasons not to!

    As for snow, this is my first winter in VA, but I’m from Ohio, so I’m used to a lot of snow, but I’m hoping I won’t see so much snow here in the “south” 🙂

  8. You are not a quitter missy! I think it’s smart of you to not run the race, even though it totally sucks. You are doing what you should do: listening to your body. Snow??!!!! You have snow already?! IF we see snow, it’s usually in Feb. You are so lucky!

  9. you are NOT a quitter. sorry you’re not running…

    I love the “What the bark, mom?” that’s awesome. Basil doesn’t really like snow all that much, but I think it’s because he’s a LOW RIDER. 😀

    HAPPY WEEKEND !

  10. What a cute little pup! It definitely snows where I live but we don’t usually see the first flake until xmas. Hoping that holds true this year although they were predicting snow tonight!

  11. Snow?! Noooooo, say it ain’t so! Fall went by WAY too quickly. My pup hates the snow too- he gets so cold!!

    You definitely made the right decision re: the race… there is no reason to potentially injure yourself further! Running/racing is supposed to be fun!

  12. I’m sorry to hear about your injuries, they are no fun!

    My dog HATES cold weather. The hotter and steamier it is outside the happier he is. I have to force him to go outside when it’s cold or wet!

  13. Our first snow??? What’s snow??? You too could enjoy the nice Warm weather if you just pressure your mom & dad to move to sunny Florida!!!
    Love ya anyway Aunt Bobbie

  14. You are NOT a quitter! You are listening to your body (and the special events in your life) and doing the right thing. Good for you girlie 😉 Snow? Yikes! It snowed 1 x last year in South Carolina (I think it was the first time it had snowed in 25 years in Charleston)…hopefully not again. Beautiful oats in a jar. Enjoy your weekend

  15. I can’t believe it snowed! Ick! We haven’t gotten that much cold weather yet, but I hate it! We don’t usually get snow/ice until December. I hope we don’t get any 🙂

    My body hates me too. Good call on not doing the run!

  16. Oh girl, those are four totally valid reasons to not run a race. Numbers 1+2 were more than enough, but taking care of your people is just as important as taking care of your body!

    We had a splash of flurries about a week ago, but beyond that we usually end up waiting until Thanksgiving before the snow really gets going. The biggest dump always seems to be post-Christmas/pre-Valentine’s Day. Or March, depending on if God is feeling spiteful.

  17. We had our first snow fall before Halloween. Several inches worth! Luckily mother nature has been trying to make up ever since with some gorgeous fall weather. But still, so not ready for the winter here either!!

    Number 4 on your list… that right there shows that you are in no way a quitter! Your just a great friend who has their priorities right!! Hope it’s a huge hit.

Leave a Reply

