Don’t Let Cancer Steal Second Base

Wowsers, where did the time go?! I knew I was going to be a little late in posting today, but it’s nearly 5:00 pm!!

Yesterday, the husband and I took off to go visit the lovely little river town of Henry, Illinois. Henry is one of those stereotypical Midwest towns that resides on the river and is the epitome of small town USA.

The reason we ventured into Henry was for an incredible cause. My friend’s mom has breast cancer and she grew up in Henry. So her family threw her an amazing benefit!

IMG_0768

 

The turn out was incredible. There were TONS of people there to support Ruth. Everyone was donning one of these cute and funny sweatshirts, too:

 

IMG_0801

 

They had raffles, food, bakesales, music, and drinks. Lots and lots of drinks. Another reason this night was so special was because all of “the girls” from high school were there. I’m still friends with almost all of my friends from high school and last night was the first time EVERYONE from our group of girls has been together for at least a couple years.

 

IMG_0764

It called for some celebrating, yo.

 

IMG_0787

Some significant others + the husband

I kind of threw healthy living out the window and let loose for the night – although I did take a couple breaks of cranberry and club soda (no one can tell your not drinking alcohol!) but they did little to appease.

It’s a rule that when a group of girlfriends get together that they have to take outrageously goofy pictures, right?

     IMG_0786  

The infamous “prune” face:

IMG_0790     

OK. Just checking 🙂

The grub at the benefit was meat, meat, and more meat, so I was glad I got a veggie sub from Subway beforehand. Once we got back to our hotel, I dug into a bakesale goodie of chocolate covered peanut butter ritz! Whaaat!

Well, actually, after the benefit we didn’t go straight to the hotel. We stopped at this lovely local bar

IMG_0807

It was crazy. The Henry locals are so friendly and small town. The whole time I was there, it made me feel like Normal was a huge city!! haha Pretty fun for something different.

And this is where we stayed – the Henry Harbour Inn!

IMG_0805

Cute and cozy.

IMG_0803

 

IMG_0802

This morning, needless to say, I didn’t feel fantabulous.

IMG_0809

But it was such a FUN night and the support and generosity was absolutely FLOODING the atmosphere. It was just awesome.

My hangover didn’t last too long – after a stabilizing breakfast I’ve been baking and cooking away in the kitchen!!!

Preview:

 

 

IMG_0137

Hope everyone had a great weekend!!

—-

What was the most fun thing you did this weekend?

Are you still friends with your friends from high school?

Also – Happy World Run Day!!! I celebrated a day early – there was no running for this chica today 🙂

13 Responses

  1. Sending good thoughts to your friend and her mom. Cute sweatshirts for a great cause!

    My best friend is from high school. No matter how far apart we are, we pick up where we left off as soon as we see each other. I love friendships like that. Glad you were able to have so much fun with your girls 🙂

  2. What an amazing event! Such a mitzvah, as my mom would say 😉 I’ve almost made it through college without losing touch with my closest high school friends, so hopefully we last for a while!

  3. Sounds like a fun weekend! I have a similar shirt from a local run called the Pink Dress Run- it says “I saved second base” with two hand prints in the obvious place…

    Can’t wait to see what you baked up!

  4. What an event! The sweatshirts are adorable and I’m glad to hear the turnout was so fabulous. Nights like that totally mean the rules have to go out the window ;). Hope you’re feeling better now. Can’t wait to see what you baked up

  5. Sounds like fun. I am still friends with my high school friends although we all live in various parts of the country. The power of facebook keeps us together!

  6. most fun thing = coming home from foodbuzz and hugging my family and sleeping in my own bed 🙂

    glad your hangover wasnt too bad!! haha 🙂

  7. That last picture fits great under the “stabilizing breakfast” title. I love the sweatshirts you got; way to support an awesome cause!

  8. What a fun time, and you take great pictures.

  9. Looks like fun! I know a thing or two about small towns, mine had less than 3,000 people!

  10. Fun event for a good cause!! I am definitely still friends with my high school buds 🙂 I didn’t know yesterday was world run day, but I guess I celebrated anyway with my 10k, holler!

Leave a Reply

