Mini Pumpkin Seizure

G’morning! Today is the first week day of DLS time. I thought I woke up late this morning because the sunlight was already peering through the window at 6:00 a.m!

Glad you all enjoyed the pictures from the breast cancer benefit for my friend’s mom! It was such a good time:)

—-

Although yesterday started out slow moving, once back home, I was struck by an overwhelming urge to cook and bake in the kitchen!

Usually I do some weekly meal prep on Mondays – but today my day is FILLED – so I took advantage of the free hours yesterday, and made some dinners for the week.

First up was Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan’s Polenta Casserole!

IMG_0129

A mixture of beans and tomatoes:

 

IMG_0126          

topped with polenta and cheese!

IMG_0130

 

I can’t wait to try this out – it’s going to be tonight’s dinner 🙂 I have to spend a lot of time working at the gym today, and then have a late volleyball game across town, so popping this in the oven for a few minutes to warm up will be uber convenient.

Next up – Easiest lentil veggie burgers!

 

IMG_0139

 

I love making my own veggie burgers, but really dislike all the pre-cooking. That’s where these burgers come into play.

There were seriously like 4 steps:

– Boil half a bag of lentils and preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

– pour in food processor, along with 2 garlic cloves, 1 chopped green bell pepper, salt, pepper, 1/4 c. tomato paste, and a little EVOO.

– While processing, add in a little more EVOO, and then pour in 1/2 . ww bread crumbs

– Form patties with wet hands, place patties on a greased baking sheet, and cook for 30 minutes, flipping half way through.

Voila! Simple as pie. A store bought pie, not a homemade apple pie. Which actually isn’t too bad to make either 😉

Only then did I look in the fridge and saw that I had a tupperware container of some pumpkin that probably needed to be used. I wouldn’t want it to go to waste….;)

All of the sudden, I think I had a mini pumpkin seizure, and I was pouring ingredients in the stand mixer and making Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Bars.

 

IMG_0128

So I went with it, and continued on.

 

IMG_0131

Guys. These bars are the moistest (ew, dirty word!) and densest bars ever! Absolutely delicious.

And the frosting. Ohhh the frosting.

 

IMG_0137

Oh. the. frosting.

And although I did perform a minor rookie mistake of turning on a mixer full of powdered sugar without the guard on…

 

IMG_0133

IMG_0134

IMG_0135

oops

They were worth it.

 

IMG_0144

 

I die! And go to pumpkin bar heaven.

—–

I’m off to do a little strength training and take a spin class! I haven’t been able to stop thinking about Fridays class! 🙂 haha I do have an upcoming 5k to run this Sunday, so perhaps tomorrow will be a running day.

Hope you have an incredible Monday!!

Did anyone else freak out and think you overslept this morning when you saw it was already light outside?

6 Responses

  1. hee !! I have made that same mixer mistake… 😉 I get up at 5, so it’s still dark at 5:45, but I am hoping it is light soon – it is what I have been looking forward to!!

    Happy Week !

  2. mmm to those bars. and yes, moist is a creepy word.

  3. too many delicious eats!!! i want some of everything!!

  4. Holy delicious,. those bars look amazzing! I headed to the gym super early this morning and it was not light out. I was pissed!

  5. I didn’t freak out about this morning, but that oversleeping feeling is the worst! Definitely have woken up on a Saturday thinking I should have been at work at that time…

  6. That polenta casserole looks amazing!! I’m not usually a polenta girl, but I could definitely become one for something that looks as cheesy as that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

