Odd Timing for a Workout

Hi guys! How’s it going? I don’t know about you, but I freaked out a little bit when I looked out the window yesterday at 4:30 pm to see the last bits of the sun sinking down in the sky.

This made last night’s volleyball game seem all the more late. The game was at 9:00 pm – and the game was a little over an hour, so I got home pretty late as is. But as I was driving to the game, I felt like I was leaving in the middle of the night!! It’d be easy to be mopey and not give it my all, but what fun would that be?! Even though the game was late, it was still a good time – as always.

Luckily we won.  

Luckily, my work schedule is flexible.

Today’s a BIC day, but I decided to go into the office about an hour later than I usually get there on Tuesdays so I could get at least 6 or 7 hours of sleep. After shower and a snack, I wasn’t in bed until about midnight.

Before the game, I took advantage of a time-saver meal I’d made on Sunday for dinner.

 IMG_0151

Polenta Casserole!!   

I had a small square of it since I’d be busting my booty for vball soon after. I have to say, this was delicious!! I really wasn’t sure. I mean – I like all the ingredients, but I wasn’t quite sure how they’d go together.

 IMG_0155

Verdict’s in – they go amazingly well together! 😀

Honestly I was still a little hungry after eating this – but I don’t like “working out” on a full stomach.

Frozen fruit is an excellent snack choice when you’re worried about this. Since it’s frozen, it’s hard to over eat and end up with a belly ache, but it gives that sweetness to finish off a meal:

IMG_0156

When I got home from the game, I wasn’t quite sure what to eat for a “post workout” snack. I got in a really good workout playing, and wasn’t very hungry, and it was nearly 11 pm. But I knew since my metabolism was raging, if I didn’t eat anything, I’d probably wake up around 3 in the morning, ravaging the fridge!

When I want a snack that’s more for function than for taste, I have a go-to snack, involving three ingredients.

IMG_0818

I use the crispy brown rice cereal – which has about zero sugar in it (good for when you’re going to sleep soon) and then mix in a half scoop of protein powder for satiety, and then pour in some almond milk!

IMG_0819

It looks nasty, but it really a great re-fueling snack. It’s pretty tasty, too, in my opinion!

The plan was to sleep in today, but for some reason, I was up at 5:30 anyway… I took use of the time by getting in a quick 3 mile tempo run on the treadmill, and then doing some leg work. Now my stomach feels a little urpy after breakfast – hopefully that will go away soon!

What are some snacks that out eat close to heading to bed? Toast works well for me, too. Or a piece of fruit!

*Coming up in next post – an update on my favorite all natural beauty products! It’s been a while 😉

13 Responses

  1. i reaaaaallly love crisp rice cereal with vanilla almond milk. esp with bananas! i need to buy some protein powder bc that combo sounds awesome.

  2. I’ve done peanut butter toast for night snacks if dinner didn’t fill me up… you’re right- the toast is a good one!

  3. I typically have a piece of dark chocolate and a glass of red wine. It’s the perfect way to end an evening 😀

  4. If I’m hungry before bed I usually reach for peanut butter toast, but if that doesn’t seem good to me I reach for cereal.

  5. congrats on the vball win!!! I love chobani or an orange before bed. Tea always seems to fill me up too!

  6. Congrats on the win!
    I like air popped popcorn and Perrier with lemon! Light, satisfying, takes a while to munch on mindlessly and a close second to popcorn and pop while chilling out!

  7. I always want sweets right before bed, so having a small square of dark chocolate usually does the trick…although I certainly love me some evening cereal as well!

  8. Congratulations on the game. I agree with something sweet at night:-) Wheaties has a new Fuel cereal that’s good.

  9. I tried adding protein pow to cereal once and hated it. I may have to try it with that brand! I always eat a bowl of cereal before bed! If not that, then I like a vitatop or a protein cake.

    MISSED YA!

  10. Peanut butter toast is perfect before bed. Sometimes I will drizzle a little bit of maple syrup on top:)

    I really dislike that it gets darker outside earlier. It makes me feel like I spend my entire day at work in an office building!

  11. If I need a late night snack, I always go for toast. It’s actually one of my comfort foods.

    The darkness really is crazy. In a way, it makes afternoon workouts at the gym easier for me because I don’t feel like I’m missing out on a beautiful day.

  12. Your polenta casserole looks great! However, I have to admit, I am clueless about polenta. You buy it in the tube (like cookie dough), right?
    For late night snacks, I love cereal with soy milk, or cottage cheese with fruit.

Leave a Reply

