Consoling Enchiladas and Rest ‘Weeks’

Another sad moment for this statistics queen, my volleyball team received its first big “L” of the season last night.

 

IMG_0900

We had a disadvantage of only playing with 5 players, but the other team was down right GOOD. I may or may not have left with the imprint of a volleyball on my chest. Erm, yeah…

It’s OK though – I drowned my sorrows in some enchiladas!!

 

IMG_0271

I swear they’re not eggs. I just went a little overboard with the cheddar jack 😉

I based it on this recipe, but made two different batches. I switched it up big time though. I also made them vegetarian – and used just mushrooms, garlic, tomatoes, and cauliflower as the vegetable base. Then at the very end, I added black beans and lentils to the mixture.

 

IMG_0273

Must. Use. This. Mixture again. If you guys are interested, I can post what I did and used exactly, because I switched it up pretty big time from the recipe.

On the sizzide:

 

IMG_0267

I love refried beans, but whenever I make them from a can, they remind me WAY too much of Clarabelle’s wet food. Then I automatically think they taste bad too :-/

 

IMG_0277

I topped my salad with ‘em anyway, along with some salsa. 🙂

It’s been quite a while since we’ve had an enchilada night! They’re so easy to make and great to prepare in advance, too. For example, today I had a client around 4:00, so I made the innards and stuffed the tortillas, “made their beds,” and packed ‘em away in the fridge. Then Shane just stuck them in the oven about 20 minutes before he knew I’d get home at 375 degrees. 

IMG_0272 

Wa. La.

It’s been a bit of a sweet tooth round these parts lately with all the baking and birthday goodies, so no dessert for me afterward. I’m going to attempt to go light on the sugar this week. We’ll see how that turns out 😉

Time to go get ready for that place called work! I skipped my workout today because I figured my body needs a rest – even though I took a day off a couple days ago. I’ve actually been planning to have a week that consists of more rest days than workout days soon. In my opinion, ever now and then (maybe once every three months) the body needs a rest week – not just a rest day – for various reasons. Anyone else out there follow this notion?

6 Responses

  1. Rest away! I agree with you completely! And if I dont’ always do full rest days, I knock down the intensity a few notches for a few days. Breathers keep me sane.

  2. I’m totally with you on the rest week. Sometimes a day or two is just not enough for your body to catch up. Enjoy it while it lasts!

  3. Sorry about the loss 😦

    I have lots and lots of rest weeks 😉

  4. I have been wanting enchiladas for awhile now. I’ve never made them before but I’m thinking I should.

  5. I need to go lighter on the sugar too after my weekend away. They had so many goodies around all the time. I didn’t eat much volume wise, but it was still a lot of sugar. I’m addicted to it right now. Sweets are my biggest craving during the 3rd trimester. I can’t say no! LOL

  6. […] The volleyball game was a blast – and we won all three games!! I left a happy, sweaty mess. Much happier than after last week’s loss […]

Leave a Reply

