Leftovers, Late Nights, Lost Spin Classes

*Warily opens eyes*

Mornin’…

Oy. When my alarm clock went off this morning to meet my friend, Heidi at spin class, I wasn’t sure it was going to happen. I got up, I poured coffee, and then realized there was no way I was getting my butt to spin class, bags packed for the day, with breakfast + lunch and snacks in tote.

I planned to…

but then yesterday I got a call from a friend who happened to be coming in from Chicago to the train station here in town with no apparent way on how she would get home (an hour away) from there. A last minute call to me was her solution. I wasn’t ecstatic about cancelling off clients that I had last night, but I also didn’t want my friend to be stranded. So I picked her up at the train station and drove her home, and drove back. When I got home, I had some blog work to do and some clients to email – so it was a late one.

Needless to say, this guy will be my BFF for the day (sorry besties, I love you guys too 😉 )

 

IMG_0297

Perhaps I’ll get in a run and lift session after my evening clients tonight, or perhaps I’ll take another rest day. My body’s been craving rest this week, it seems. I did get in a quick 20 minute power yoga podcast this morning, though!

Unsurprisingly, dinner was also eaten on the run last night – I reached into the depths of the fridge, and forgot all about the butternut squash lasagna that I’d made a couple months ago!

  IMG_0280 

After making the judgment call that the green-ish tinge on the outside of the lasagna was freezer burn, not mold (I’d say I was 60% certain – LOL) I micro waved it up and inhaled it.

IMG_0281

 

Added a little green for texture and good measure (the salad, not the “mold.” 😉 )

 

IMG_0284

And hey, I’m not sick this morning, so I must have made the right call!

 How risky are you when it comes to deciding whether to eat food that may or may not have gone bad? I consider myself pretty risky, but I went with going ahead and eating the lasagna just because it had been in the freezer – can mold grow in temps that cold anyway??!

I’m off to work! Have a great Wednesday, guys 😀

19 Responses

  1. Eh, frozen food is good forever in my opinion. However, I’m completely disgusted by food left out on the counter for more than a few minutes. Gross.

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. I err on the side of caution with risky food. Idk if mold can grow in freezers- I’d love to find out!

  3. Not risky at all! Though I have found myself living a bit more on the edge with expiration dates since I’ve been living on my own and forced to buy my own food.

    And you are the best friend ever. Seriously.

  4. I’m on the risky side as well. I’m pretty sure food in the freezer stays good for a loooooong time, though. Clint’s family freezes everything, so he’s gotten me into the habit. 🙂 Squash lasagna sounds good!

  5. I’m a pretty big wimp when it comes to potentially spoiled foods. I ate some lettuce last night that was supposedly only fresh up until yesterday, and that in itself was a big risk for me haha.

  6. I read articles all the time about how long food can last frozen and different types of food last different. I don’t think they’re dangerous if you freeze them and reheat, they just lose flavor and texture a lot of the time if they’re frozen for too long. We just ate some black bean soup that I’m pretty sure I froze last winter and I thought it was fine and I lived to tell the tale so I guess until I eat something that makes me sick, I’ll keep living on the risky side with you 🙂

  7. if it is in the freezer I’ll eat it… at first you said fridge and I thought, who is typing this as she is at the hospital !!??? 😉

    I’ve had a couple bad times with food poisoning, so I am very particular and RARELY eat things past their date… freezer as the exception.

  8. Hi, Paige! I have been reading your blog for sometime, yet this is the first time I have commented. On an unrelated note to this post, I know you are a huge TruBlood fan and a wine lover, especially of the red variety..so, I wanted to make a suggestion for you…there is a wine called Vampire…the pinot noir is out of this world good. Here is the website: http://www.vampire.com/…It is not very expensive around $10 a bottle. I live in Indiana, only a couple of hours from you and I have found it at several locations. Just thought you might want to check it out! Love your blog by the way!

  9. Me again..lol.
    The above link for the vampire wine is wrong.

    This is it..

    http://www.vampire.com/

  10. I’m not very risky when it comes to that, but if I’m desperate anything goes haha.

  11. I am not risky at all! If anything looks a little off it goes in the trash.

    On the other hand, my husband will eat anything. So usually the stuff I think is bad he will eat 🙂

  12. lol I will eat things from the freezer whenever…but I’d say everything generally gets eaten within 3 months of going in there!! I have found things in the fridge after that same time frame…those get thrown away, container and all!

  13. I think as long as things are frozen before they go “off” and as long as they are wrapped well then it’s all fine to chow down.

    If I pull something out and it is covered in ice crystals or has that “burnt” edges then I toss it because freezer burn tastes awful!

  14. I think sometimes especially oily things can turn rancid in the freezer. But otherwise, I’ll basically eat anything that’s come out of the freezer.

    Things in the fridge get a week. Unless they’re clearly labeled with an expiration date that states otherwise.

  15. I’m pretty risky when it comes to leftovers. If it’s been in the freezer I feel like it has no exipration. I think leftovers in my fridge I might push it a little bit, too.

Leave a Reply

