My Thanksgiving Menu 2010

This coming Friday, I’ll be hosting my first ever Thanksgiving dinner at the Running Around Normal household! Granted, it will just be four or five people, but I’m still so excited!

This morning’s task was to create a menu. For the past hour, I’ve been searching recipes, blogs, and magazine for a simple, yet creative Thanksgiving menu. The guests I’ll be serving are pretty traditional and not too fancy (in a good way!!) so I tried to keep a back-to-basics mindset while working.

And I think I’ve got it!

 

image [source]

Paige and Shane’s Thanksgiving Menu 2010

Spiced mixed nuts (pre dinner snacking)

Veggies and hummus (pre dinner snacking)

Green Bean Casserole

Mashed potatoes and gravy

Stuffing

Stovetop. Sh! Don’t judge me!

Sweet Potato Casserole

Salad

Turkey (Organic and Amish)

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pumpkin Pie

Fresh Market Apple pie w/ vanilla bean ice cream

Have you ever hosted Thanksgiving at your house?

*crosses fingers nothing gets burned – including the house!!!*

On the actual Thanksgiving Day, we’re going to my aunt’s house. She always makes the most delicious feast, so this year, I’ll have a glimpse of what she goes through every single year! To help her out, I plan to bake this apple pie:

 

image

and perhaps a pumpkin pie

and then also these portabella lasagna rollups as a vegetarian main course (and a carnivore side dish)

 

image

Do you bring a side dish or dessert where you eat Thanksgiving? If so, what are you bringing this year?

On that note, I’m off to go for a run, take a yoga class, and then help out with a shower.

Happy Thanksgiving week, everyone!

Before I go, Shane and I wanted to take a minute to share with you all a skit we made for the holidays:

17 Responses

  1. Good luck on your first Thanksgiving!! I’ve never cooked for other people before but I am getting TONS of ideas from other bloggers. I think my future challenge will be narrowing down my sides to just a few!

    I’m going to ONE family Thanksgiving this year! Usually I go to at least 3 but I’m staying in town this year and not going to Normal to my aunt’s house. I’m bringing broccoli-cauliflower salad and also some apple crisp.

  2. I’ve hosted Thanksgiving twice now, once for each side of our families. I loved doing it! This year I will be making it for just me and Rob so it will be nice an relaxing afternoon. Then we will pack up all the goodies and take food to his family for dinner. Should be a good time! Good luck with yours! It’s a lot of work, but so much fun!

  3. I bring a dessert to my parent’s house. This year I’m bringing pumpkin parfaits. It’s a recipe I got at Lovin’ Losing.

  4. I didn’t know Shane could dance!! Very funny elves!

    Good luck on your first turkey dinner.

  5. I hosted last year when I was in MD, but my mom totally came and we really co-cooked it all 🙂

  6. My family has Thanksgiving at my grandmother’s house and we all contribute. My aunts and I go over the day before to get things set up and pre-cook some things. It’s a little pre-holiday fun. I am responsible for the desserts this year. I am making sure to include something pumpkin and something chocolate. Your menu looks great! i’m sure you will be a wonderful hostess.

  7. Mmm, those lasagna rollups look delish! I know I’m going to be making something like that very very soon 🙂

  8. Eep! I would be so nervous. I’m no good in the kitchen though. I just help my mom out each year. LOL

  9. Do you have a link to the lasagna rollups recipe? They look AMAZING!

  10. I’ve only had Thanksgiving-themed parties, never the big day itself.

    Marcus and I are extremely lucky to have our families on either side of the city so we’ll bring appetizers to my family and wine to his.

    Good luck! I’ll be sending good vibes your way. I know it will be great 🙂

  11. my mom is hosting thanksgiving, but i’ll be doing most of the cooking. i’m doing the turkey (my mom is crazy allergic), stuffing, sweet potato casserole, cranberries, salad and a pumpkin trifle.

    jen

  12. I’m going to make pumpkin cheesecake for the fam dinner this year, so easy it’s embarassing but everyone loves it!

    I’m also making my famous twice baked sweet potatoes for our potluck at work tomorrow. Mmmm.

    Your menu sounds great!

  13. Your menu looks awesome. Good luck! I’m going to bring a butternut squash pizza with caramelized onions and Gorgonzola. I know it’s not traditional, but I like to make my own traditions.

  14. […] Shane’s family comes over HERE for Thanksgiving dinner tonight. And I’m the host! Here’s my Thanksgiving menu. I’ll report back tomorrow on whether or not the bird was served. It’s Shane’s duty! I’m a […]

Leave a Reply

