Sleepin’ In and Tofu Din

Hi sweetpeas!

How are you guys doing on Complaint Free February? I’ve been actively trying to be chipper and not to unload negativity on others – especially if it’s complaining just to complain. And I gotta tell ya – when it’s supposed to snow 6-8 inches, and weather is THE small talk topic, there’s a lotta whinin’ and complainin’ going on!

I changed my hours a bit at work starting this week so I can have time to get my run/workout in before work. Since I’ll likely be training after work and nights, I figured I’d make better use of my morning! However, since Monday’s are my rest days, I used the morning to sleep in after our late night from the Super Bowl party 😀

Right before I left for work, I had the most delicious breakfast ever.

 

IMG_5325IMG_5326

Oh yoatgurt, you make my tummy flutter.

It started snowing early this morning, so the hubski dropped me off at work – which is a good thing, because now that I don’t get into work at the ass crack of dawn, my rock star parking spot belongs to another early-riser.

Around 10:00, I broke for a snack of biscotti and tea:

 

IMG_1073

IMG_1074

 

Perfect combination!

This didn’t put too much of a dent in my appetite and a couple hours later, I heated up some quinoa casserole leftovers for lunch:

IMG_1075

Mmm – just as good second day 🙂

After scarfing down this goodness at my desk, I was off to meetings until close to the end of the day before Shane came to pick me up.

Unpictured snacks include veggies and hummus and blue corn chips and guac.

Pictured snacks:

 

IMG_1072

IMG_5327

Pear and cinnamon. So juicy!

Due to Super Bowl Sunday festivities, laundry definitely did not get done yesterday, so I did the last few loads, and then got started on dinner.

Shane and I were both feeling fried rice! Chicken fried for him…

IMG_5330

and tofu fried for me!

IMG_5329

IMG_5332

 

SO so good. Recipe coming soon 😉 I served it up alongside a big ol’ bowl of kale chips:

 

IMG_5331

Nommy.

After folding the last load of laundry, the husband and I decided to make ourselves a little wine and dessert tray 😀

IMG_5333

This was my plate – a spice cookie, biscotti, TJ’s dark chocolate, and a glass of red. Hit. The. Spot.

Now we’re catching up on One Tree Hill and then it’s time to catch up on Zzz’s.

Tomorrow will be the first time I’ve worked out before work in a long, long time. I really hope my sleepy state doesn’t reach over to press “snooze” when 4:45 hits! I really do love working out first thing in the morning. It really energizes you and sets the tone for the entire day 😀

However, it’s supposed to snow 6-8 inches tonight! So hopefully I’m able to get out of the drive and to the gym!

Are you a morning, afternoon, or evening exerciser?

17 Responses

  1. Monday – Thursday I have to do evenings. Friday – Sunday I do mornings or whenever fits our schedule.
    CJ

  2. MMM! I’m looking forward to the fried rice recipe!

  3. I’m all over the place with when I like to workout. For the longest time I was a huge morning person…now I’m more of an afternoon person. I go through phases. 🙂

  4. Your fried rice looks good. I never order it from my favorite Chinese restaurant, but I’d like to try making yours.
    Morning workouts are the BEST if you can drag yourself out of bed every morning:-)

  5. Been reading your blog for a few months and love it. That fried rice looks awesome. I can’t wait for the recipe. I am without a doubt a morning exerciser. It just makes the whole day better. In fact, I’m off to kickboxing in a few. Would love for you to check out my blog http://fitnessfoodventures.wordpress.com.

  6. Love love love One Tree Hill! I look forward to it each and every week – so dramatic but so good!

  7. I have been eating kale chips every night and LOVING them!! My hubby is hooked on them, too.

    I workout in the morning and always have. I could never be a night exerciser!

  8. The tofu looks fantastic! I’m an afternoon exerciser 🙂

  9. Got a hankering for fried rice now!

    I think I’m a daylight morning exerciser…If I have to get up so early that it’s dark before and dark after, I’d prefer to do it after work in the early afternoon.

  10. I’m definitely more of a morning person when it comes to exercise, but lately I’ve been working at 6am! So afternoon workouts are a little more feasible for the week, then I do mornings on the weekend.

    I’m a big One Tree Hill fan, too! I was worried about this season, but I’m pleasantly surprised so far!

  11. I tried your wall of PB yesterday the other day. Yum!!

    I’m definitely a morning exerciser – if I don’t get up and at em I never will. But I occasionally love a good evening run. I can never make myself go to the gym in the evening though. NEVER!! haha

  12. MORNING all the way! I wake up at 4:30 every morning, brush my teeth, eat a little, and go! I love doing my workout first thing in the morning…I am a 5:15am workout girl!

  13. I used to wake up at 4:40AM everyday to work out. Ugh….I hated those days. I still like to work out in the AM but I now do it at 9:30AM after I take the kids to school. I like that much better. 🙂

  14. mmm biscotti and tea is such a comforting combo!

    I love working out around 9:30am. My body is awake, I’ve already had a small breakfast and I feel great!

  15. I thought that biscotti was a chunk of chocolate chip cookie dough! Looks yummy either way.

    And that tofu looks great. Can’t wait for the recipe!

  16. Tofu fried rice is the the best dish ever. I would eat it all day, every day if I could.

Leave a comment